Daily Readings for Friday July 7 2023


The Collect

Almighty and most merciful God, grant that by the indwelling of your Holy Spirit we may be enlightened and strengthened for your service; through Jesus Christ our Lord, who lives and reigns with you, in the unity of the Holy Spirit, one God, now and for ever. Amen.

First Reading: Genesis 23:1-4, 19 24:1-8, 62-67

And the life of Sarah was a hundred and seven and twenty years: these were the years of the life of Sarah. 2 And Sarah died in Kiriath-arba (the same is Hebron), in the land of Canaan: and Abraham came to mourn for Sarah, and to weep for her. 3 And Abraham rose up from before his dead, and spake unto the children of Heth, saying, 4 I am a stranger and a sojourner with you: give me a possession of a burying-place with you, that I may bury my dead out of my sight.

19 And after this, Abraham buried Sarah his wife in the cave of the field of Machpelah before Mamre (the same is Hebron), in the land of Canaan.

1 And Abraham was old, and well stricken in age: and Jehovah had blessed Abraham in all things. 2 And Abraham said unto his servant, the elder of his house, that ruled over all that he had, Put, I pray thee, thy hand under my thigh: 3 and I will make thee swear by Jehovah, the God of heaven and the God of the earth, that thou wilt not take a wife for my son of the daughters of the Canaanites, among whom I dwell: 4 but thou shalt go unto my country, and to my kindred, and take a wife for my son Isaac. 5 And the servant said unto him, Peradventure the woman will not be willing to follow me unto this land: must I needs bring thy son again unto the land from whence thou camest? 6 And Abraham said unto him, Beware thou that thou bring not my son thither again. 7 Jehovah, the God of heaven, who took me from my father’s house, and from the land of my nativity, and who spake unto me, and who sware unto me, saying, Unto thy seed will I give this land; he will send his angel before thee, and thou shalt take a wife for my son from thence. 8 And if the woman be not willing to follow thee, then thou shalt be clear from this my oath; only thou shalt not bring my son thither again.

62 And Isaac came from the way of Beer-lahai-roi; for he dwelt in the land of the South. 63 And Isaac went out to meditate in the field at the eventide: and he lifted up his eyes, and saw, and, behold, there were camels coming. 64 And Rebekah lifted up her eyes, and when she saw Isaac, she alighted from the camel. 65 And she said unto the servant, What man is this that walketh in the field to meet us? And the servant said, It is my master: and she took her veil, and covered herself. 66 And the servant told Isaac all the things that he had done. 67 And Isaac brought her into his mother Sarah’s tent, and took Rebekah, and she became his wife; and he loved her: and Isaac was comforted after his mother’s death.

Psalms 106:1-5

Praise ye Jehovah. Oh give thanks unto Jehovah; for he is good; For his lovingkindness endureth for ever. 2 Who can utter the mighty acts of Jehovah, Or show forth all his praise? 3 Blessed are they that keep justice, And he that doeth righteousness at all times. 4 Remember me, O Jehovah, with the favor that thou bearest unto thy people; Oh visit me with thy salvation, 5 That I may see the prosperity of thy chosen, That I may rejoice in the gladness of thy nation, That I may glory with thine inheritance.

Gospel: Matthew 9:9-13

9 And as Jesus passed by from thence, he saw a man, called Matthew, sitting at the place of toll: and he saith unto him, Follow me. And he arose, and followed him.

10 And it came to pass, as he sat at meat in the house, behold, many publicans and sinners came and sat down with Jesus and his disciples. 11 And when the Pharisees saw it, they said unto his disciples, Why eateth your Teacher with the publicans and sinners? 12 But when he heard it, he said, They that are whole have no need of a physician, but they that are sick. 13 But go ye and learn what this meaneth, I desire mercy, and not sacrifice: for I came not to call the righteous, but sinners.

Benedictio:

As you go forth from this place, may you have the courage to confront the dark places. May you trust in God’s goodness to lead you to the living water. May you act justly, love mercy, and walk humbly with your God. And may the love of God, the grace of our Lord Jesus Christ, and the fellowship of the Holy Spirit be with you this day and forevermore. Amen.

Thought for the Day:

Talent is God given. Be humble. Fame is man-given. Be grateful. Conceit is self-given. Be careful.

Announcements:

Do You Need Prayer?

We live in an era in which—to say the least—the times are distressing. Prayer is a powerful tool with which to combat these days of darkness; as such we are opening a channel with which those that need prayer can request the readers of this daily publication to join together in prayer. Click the link below to request prayer for yourself or a loved one.

[CLICK HERE]

Feel called to the ministry?

The Seminary of Saint Michael the Archangel is now accepting enrollment applications and upon completion of required courses, the student will be ordained as a minister in the Independent Sacramental Movement.

[CLICK HERE FOR MORE INFORMATION]

Check Out Our Other Publications:

Coffee With The Bishop: A YouTube Channel Featuring Commentary of Interest to Christians

Saint Michael’s Journal—The Journal of Exorcism, is an Educational Ministry designed to teach people about the very real dangers of Demonic Oppression and Possession, while exploring all other subjects related to all things which go bump in the night. The Journal is available on these platforms:

Watch Our Videos on You Tube @SaintMichaelsJournal
Listen to Our Audio Podcast on Spotify

And Read Text Versions on WordPress

If you like our work, please click on the Like and Subscribe buttons, we do not receive any funding for this, but by liking and subscribing to our pages, you help to raise our rankings in the search engines and get our message out to a larger audience who may need this inspiration.

Leave a comment