Daily Readings for Saturday May 27 2023


First Reading: Acts 28:16-20, 30-31

16 And when we entered into Rome, Paul was suffered to abide by himself with the soldier that guarded him. 17 And it came to pass, that after three days he called together those that were the chief of the Jews: and when they were come together, he said unto them, I, brethren, though I had done nothing against the people, or the customs of our fathers, yet was delivered prisoner from Jerusalem into the hands of the Romans: 18 who, when they had examined me, desired to set me at liberty, because there was no cause of death in me. 19 But when the Jews spake against it, I was constrained to appeal unto Caesar; not that I had aught whereof to accuse my nation. 20 For this cause therefore did I entreat you to see and to speak with me: for because of the hope of Israel I am bound with this chain.

30 And he abode two whole years in his own hired dwelling, and received all that went in unto him, 31 preaching the kingdom of God, and teaching the things concerning the Lord Jesus Christ with all boldness, none forbidding him.

Psalms 11:4-5, 7

4 Jehovah is in his holy temple; Jehovah, his throne is in heaven; His eyes behold, his eyelids try, the children of men. 5 Jehovah trieth the righteous; But the wicked and him that loveth violence his soul hateth.

7 For Jehovah is righteous; he loveth righteousness: The upright shall behold his face.

Gospel: John 21:20-25

20 Peter, turning about, seeth the disciple whom Jesus loved following; who also leaned back on his breast at the supper, and said, Lord, who is he that betrayeth thee? 21 Peter therefore seeing him saith to Jesus, Lord, and what shall this man do? 22 Jesus saith unto him, If I will that he tarry till I come, what is that to thee? follow thou me. 23 This saying therefore went forth among the brethren, that that disciple should not die: yet Jesus said not unto him, that he should not die; but, If I will that he tarry till I come, what is that to thee?

24 This is the disciple that beareth witness of these things, and wrote these things: and we know that his witness is true.

25 And there are also many other things which Jesus did, the which if they should be written every one, I suppose that even the world itself would not contain the books that should be written.

Benedictio

May Christ dwell in your hearts through faith—that you,

being rooted and grounded in love, may have strength to comprehend with

all the saints what is the breadth and length and height and depth, and to

know the love of Christ that surpasses knowledge, that you may be filled

with all the fullness of God. Amen

(Ephesians 3:17-19​)

***********

Readings taken from ewtn.com

Scripture from the American Standard Version—Public Domain

Feel called to the ministry? St. Michael’s now has seminary programs with a path to the Independent Catholic Priesthood as well as a licensed minister for those more comfortable as Protestants.

See https://archdiocesestmichael.wordpress.com/2023/01/31/on-recruiting-people-for-the-priesthood/

 

Leave a comment